Uncle Buds to Skinner – Thanksgiving 2013

Please share your trip reports here.
wjblazek

Uncle Buds to Skinner – Thanksgiving 2013

Post by wjblazek »

Intro
This is a trip report of our hut trip on Thanksgiving weekend, Thursday 11/28 – Sunday 12/1/2013.
I had been organizing and planning this trip for several months. We ended up with a group of 12 strong CMCers on this trip, all with extensive backcountry experience:
Bill, Sue, Kent, Nicolle, Gary, Joe, Mary, Katie, Brenda, Jim, Matt and Chris.
We all used snowshoes due to the early season and lack of enough good snow for skiing.

This was Matt’s and Jim’s 1st hut trip and they picked a challenging one. Several of us had been to UBs before. Gary, Sue and I had been to Skinner before via the direct route around the South side of Turquois Lake 5 years ago. On that trip Sue and I followed the standard BD route up Glacier Creek route, which was well broken and tracked. Gary broke his own trail up the East end of the ridge for fun and met us at the hut! The BD route was too easy for Gary at that time! None of us had ever been from UBs to Skinner in winter. In September, 2013, Sue and I had done the Colorado Trail Segment 9 from Tennessee Pass to Timberline Lake TH, going close to UBs Hut, and which we used on this trip. So we had the route well scouted.

Fortunately the weather was clear and sunny all weekend and temps were in the mid-30s for a high during the day and mid-teens for the low at night and only light winds.

The 10th Mtn office called me on Weds right before the trip to let me know the route from UB to Skinner would not be tracked at all. We had expected this from the beginning of planning the trip so this was no surprise but it was nice of them to warn us. They were right.

Here is a link to the few pics I took.
https://picasaweb.google.com/1110764986 ... pBillSPics

Matt’s:
https://plus.google.com/photos/11663091 ... Yf49e2O1wE

Thursday